Making Democracy Work


Calendar of Events

Events listed here are open to the public, unless otherwise noted.

** denotes events sponsored or co-sponsored by LWVPA. Please note that co-sponsorship of an event does not imply endorsement of any of the speakers, groups, or the points of view expressed.

Date & Time        Place        Description
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
7 - 9 pm
Palo Alto Art Center
1313 Newell Road
Palo Alto, CA 94303
** Julie Lythcott-Haims: What It Means to Be Black and American. Join us for this special event. Julie is the former Dean of Freshmen at Stanford University, and New York Times bestselling author of How to Raise an Adult and her most recent book Real American: A Memoir.

She'll discuss the importance of a generous and wise community as a healing power to fractured race relations and what we can all do to make America a better place for everyone.


Stay after Julie's talk for a champagne toast as we celebrate community engagement and our 80th anniversary!

Real American will be available for purchase.

Please RSVP by February 18 at or 650-903-0600

Saturday, February 24, 2018
9 - 11 am
Peninsula Conservation Center,
Raptor Room
3921 E. Bayshore Road
Palo Alto, CA 94303
** Voter Services Planning Session. The League of Women Voters exists to spread democracy. Our Voter Services team serves that mission by registering, educating, and inspiring voters. If you have been involved with Voter Services before, are currently on our volunteer list, and/or would like to become involved in this work, please join us for this special event.

We will:

  • Plan for the sustainability and expansion of our ambitious high school voter registration program;
  • Plan for upcoming voter education events in advance of the June primary and November general elections; and
  • Identify volunteers to take on these and other important roles:
    - organize visits to independent schools
    - organize possible get-out-the vote (GOTV) activities
    - organize candidate forums
    - make voter registration presentations in high school classrooms
    - help expand our high school VR effort beyond Palo Alto
    - help with budgeting for our activities.
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
noon - 1 pm
Peninsula Conservation Center,
Raptor Room
3921 E. Bayshore Road
Palo Alto, CA 94303
** Food Production and Greenhouse Gases: Counting Carb Emissions. Featured Speaker, Chris Field, Director of Stanford Woods Institute

Dr. Field's presentation will focus on food production and its impact on both greenhouse gas emissions and climate change. For a brief overview of the topic, please see the recent University of California Climate Lab's Video, "The Diet that Helps Fight Climate Change" here.

Stanford Woods Institute is one of the most well-respected institutes nationally and internationally. It is a great privilege to have the Director of the Woods Institute as our guest speaker. See Director Field's full bio here.

Attend via webinar or by joining the live audience at the Peninsula Conservation Center (PCC) For webinar attendance, please RSVP here. Webinar spaces are limited, so please be sure to reserve early.

For in-person attendance, please RSVP to: or 650-903-0600. In-person attendance is free and open to the public. Early registration is recommended. Director Field's event will start promptly at noon so please arrive early to check-in. Street and lot parking is available.

Webinar registration will be open to members only until February 20 and then it will be open to the public as well.

Following Director Field's presentation there will be a question and answer session. Director Field will take questions from both in person and webinar attendees.

Saturday, March 10, 2018
10 am - 4 pm
Peninsula Conservation Center
3921 E. Bayshore Road
Palo Alto, CA 94303
** Voter's Edge Training for League members. During each election cycle, the League of Women Voters provides a website, Voter's Edge, where voters can find impartial, factual information about the candidates and the ballot measures. A task force of League members collects candidate-provided information and posts it on the Voter's Edge website,

If you would like to help with this important League work, contact Bonnie Packer at

Saturday, March 10, 2018
3:00 pm
Saratoga Library
13750 Saratoga Ave.
Saratoga, CA 95070
Spotting Fake News. Spotting Fake News with speaker John H. McManus, award-winning author & former journalist.

Fake and misleading news continues to spread online, particularly through social media and talk radio. Learn how to detect a fabricated story which could falsely sway your outlook and ultimately your vote.

Flyer: Spotting Fake News

Free & Open to the Public. Co-sponsored by the LWV of Southwest Santa Clara Valley and the Saratoga Library.

For questions, contact:, 408-598-1842 or, 408-867-6126.